Kerala Info

Welcome to Kerala Info, No:1 Information portal in Kerala

Parliament Constituencies

The Kerala has a total of 20 parliamentary constituencies, all of which are located in the state. These constituencies are divided into 14 districts and are represented in the Lok Sabha (lower house of the Parliament of India) by 20 elected Members of Parliament (MPs). A twenty five years old Indian citizen with out any criminal case and declaration by the banks or courts of the country as insolvent can compete in the Lok Sabha election. The tenure of Lok Sabha is five years. The parliament constituencies have a clear role or an an important role in Kerala politics.

The constituencies in Kerala are Alappuzha, Attingal, Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kannur, Kasaragod, Kollam, Kottayam, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Mavelikkara, Palakkad, Pathanamthitta, Ponnani, Thrissur, Thiruvananthapuram, Vadakara, Wayanad and Alathur.

Each of these constituencies has its own distinct culture and identity, which is reflected in the candidates and their campaigns, as well as the voter turnout in their respective areas. Each of these constituencies has been a witness to many interesting political developments over the years.

 This stats say a lot about the influence of parliament constituencies in Kerala and the influence of Parliament member's activities.

                The Lok Sabha election in Kerala and the result in Kerala are playing a key role in the Indian politics. In the last Lok Sabha election the NDA has won 303 seats out of 543 whli UPA has got 110 out of 543 and INC won only 53 seats. In this 53 seats there are 19 members from Kerala, so we can easily understand how the Kerala constituencies influence the Indian politics.

Kerala is also known for its progressive and inclusive politics, where the minorities have always been represented in the Parliament. Currently.

Info Recommended

Click the link below to explore more details about Kerala.